Book by phone: +1 (707) 834-6555

Hookton Wildlife Retreat - On the South Bay

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental house. Sleeps 6, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. No pets allowed.

1490 Hookton Rd Loleta, CA 95551 United States

Stay at Hookton Wildlife Retreat - a South Bay Getaway, and enjoy views of the Humboldt Bay Wildlife Refuge. Rumor has it, this 1850 Farmhouse was once called ‘The Road House’ and was frequented by Captain Ulysses S. Grant when he was stationed at Fort Humboldt.

Upon entering the home, you’re greeted with a spacious living, dining and kitchen area that opens to the hillside through gorgeous French doors. It has hardwood floors throughout the common living areas. The kitchen is fully equipped with newer appliances, plus cooking implements and spices for making home cooked meals. it also has an eat-in bar, with three stools, for informal dining. The french doors lead to a deck out back with a bistro style table, perfect for sitting and enjoying your morning coffee.

The large living room has wonderfully comfortable sofa and love seat as well as a small dining room table, with views of the hillside. There’s also an office, for those that may have business to attend to and a laundry room with front loading washer and dryer. The 1st floor bedroom has a full-size bed with its own full bath and large shower. The laundry room also has a door to the back patio, where you can relax and soak up the sun, BBQ, and eat outside with new table and chairs.

The second and third bedrooms and the second bath are on the second floor with views of the hillside and the south bay. One bedroom offers new queen foam bed, large closet and TV with DVD player. The other also has a queen-size bed, as well as a treadmill for those who enjoy in house exercise! Both bathrooms have tiled flooring; the top floor bathroom has a shower/ tub combo, for soaking at the end of a long day.

There are many nearby places to explore, including a floating pier available just 1/4 mile up the road for launching kayak or paddle board, or one can enjoy walks along the beach at the Mike Thompson Wildlife Area; you’ll never run out of things to do while staying at Hookton Wildlife Retreat! There is a plethora of bird species as well as mammals to spot, so nature enthusiasts will want to bring their binoculars! It’s just a short drive to Ferndale or Eureka for supplies, and 45 minutes from Rockefeller Forest, where you can walk among the giant Redwoods…This is a truly magnificent home, we hope you love it as much as we do!

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type House, 2 story, Built in 1850
Unit Code Hookton
Beds 2 queen beds, 1 full bed
Bathrooms 2 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 6, 4 dining seats
Floor Area 1800 square feet
Pets No pets allowed.
Standard Amenities combination tub/shower, double, queen, bay/sound, botanical garden, festivals, forests, marina, museums, recreation center, restaurants, winery tours, zoo, Television, Video Library, Hair Dryer, Heating, Internet, Iron & Board, Linens Provided, Living Room, Parking, Towels Provided, Washing Machine, Wood Stove, Coffee Maker, Dishes & Utensils, Dishwasher, Kitchen, Microwave, Oven, Pantry Items, Refrigerator, Stove, Toaster, antiquing, beachcombing, bird watching, eco tourism, horseback riding, photography, scenic drives, sight seeing, sledding, whale watching, ATM/bank, groceries, hospital, Near The Ocean, Deck / Patio, Lawn / Garden, Outdoor Grill, deepsea fishing, equestrian events, fishing, fly fishing, freshwater fishing, hiking, paragliding, pier fishing, rafting, sailing, surfing, swimming, whitewater rafting, wind-surfing, children welcome, non smoking only, pets not allowed, wheelchair inaccessible
Living Washer & Dryer, Wireless Internet, Climbing Stairs Required, Washer & Dryer on site, Forced Air Heating
Kitchen Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Refrigerator, Toaster
Outdoor BBQ Grill, Deck, Patio, Mountain Biking Trails, Private yard and gardens, Walking Trails, Biking Trails, Horse Trails, Agate Hunting, Eco-tourism, Deck With Seating
Average Manager Rating (Based on 4943 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 13 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
100 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • 4 day Getaway!

    Stayed 4 days ending in July, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Brandon C from Placentia, CA recommends this vacation rental

    My wife and I (in our 30s), along with our 2yr son and 23yr old niece stayed at this home for 4 days last week. The place was great! In fact, I was telling my wife I wanted to move to the town and would buy this exact place. It’s close to a trail on the bay to take a short hike and is very secluded. There was also a family of deer that lived behind the brush and we would see them daily walking in the backyard. Place is modern inside and had everything we needed. Great place!

  •  
  • Wonderful vacation

    Stayed 4 days ending in June, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Andrew L from Oakley, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Loved the place. We had deer show up every day including a baby and momma. One evening a young bobcat showed up following the deer. The location was very relaxing. Only concern I had was that the description said it had a bbq but there was no propane in the tank so we couldn’t use it. I also thought that I was going to be able to use the fireplace in the house but upon arrival there was a note saying the owners ask that we don’t use it. Those weren’t a deal breaker but just a slight disappointment.

    • Manager Responded on 6/19/2018

      Thanks for your feedback regarding Hookton Wildlife Retreat, I am so sorry to hear that there was no propane for you to use, I will be purchasing an additional tank to avoid this in the future, and please call us in the future as I would have been happy to provide a full tank for you! We don't advertise the wood stove in the description, however, I understand that it may feature in a photo or two. As there is forced air heating, the wood stove isn't really needed, and the owner prefers it not to be used. Sorry for the disappointment, sounds like overall you enjoyed the beautiful home and there will be propane on your next visit, which I hope you will book in the future. Thank you for your feedback, it really is valuable to us!

  •  
  • Hookton

    Stayed 3 days ending in May, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from 1, ca recommends this vacation rental

    Quiet, low traffic place

    • Manager Responded on 6/7/2018

      Thank you Doria for leaving a review of Hookton Widlife Retreat. We look forward to having you back again in the future, please look us up at Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals when planning your next trip to the North Coast!

  •  
  • Perfect

    Stayed 3 days ending in May, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Alpine, CA recommends this vacation rental

    This house is clean , comfortable , and cozy. It has everything you need for a relaxing vacation

    • Manager Responded on 5/24/2018

      Thank you for taking a moment to leave a message regarding your stay at Hookton Wildlife Retreat! So happy to hear you enjoyed the home, it's located in such a spectacular spot, close to the Humboldt Bay, with lots of spots to take long walks. Please look us up when visiting again at Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals, with over 100+ homes, there's something for everyone!

  •  
  • Great house, great location, great stay

    Stayed 3 days ending in April, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jason S from Truckee, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We all loved our stay in this beautiful home in the wildlife refuge. Super clean and super nice. Accommodates 6 people perfectly and the location was perfect for our experience. The fire alarms did go off on our last day at about 8:30 am for like 5 minutes and we were unable to shut them off. There was no smoke from cooking and thought it may be carbon monoxide, but did finally shut off. Overall though a fantastic experience. We'll definitely be back and also recommend to friends/family.

    • Manager Responded on 4/6/2018

      Thank you so much for staying with us at Hookton Wildlife Retreat. It really is such a nice place. We have since had the fire alarms checked and are working well. We look forward to your return.

  •  
  • Wonderful Spot

    Stayed 3 days ending in March, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Kathie S from Santa Rosa, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful home. We had to cancel some of our planned activities due to the rain, but the home offered a cozy spot to visit and do some crafting. Great location! Thank you...

    • Manager Responded on 4/11/2018

      You are welcome! Hookton Wildlife retreat is so nice, secluded, quiet and clean. Folks just love it. We look forward to your return!

  •  
  • Great location. Comfortable and clean

    Stayed 3 days ending in December, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Eileen W from Fairfield, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We stayed at the Hookton house for three nights right after Christmas. The location was perfect to explore the many sights in the Eureka area. The house was comfortable and clean. Working with Redwood Coast Vacation rentals was easy. We will definitely be back!

    • Manager Responded on 1/17/2018

      Well Gosh, thank! Hookton Wildlife Retreat is such an amazing accommodation that folks really love and come back to again and again. We look forward to your return!

  •  
  • MOST EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY!

    Stayed 2 days ending in October, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Larry M from 1, ca recommends this vacation rental

    This home is perfectly situated for access to Eureka and Fortuna. Plenty to do and see there but the best is the Avenue of the Giants. Giants really do live there! Can't wait to come again and explore the Redwood Trees to the north!

    • Manager Responded on 11/14/2017

      Awe, thank you so much for staying with us at Hookton Wildlife Retreat. It is such a beautiful home, we love it as you did. We look forward to your return to the Giants.

  •  
  • cozy and comfortable

    Stayed 3 days ending in October, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Larry M from 1, ca recommends this vacation rental

    Wildlife fans welcome! We loved it here!

    • Manager Responded on 10/26/2017

      We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Hookton Wildlife Retreat! It is really a charming home, with a wonderful proximity to the Reserve. Clean air and wonderful walks await at this beautiful home. I'm so thrilled the owners allowed us to share it with our guests! We look forward to having you back to the home soon, there's always more to explore, either near the home, or the North Coast in general, so please come back soon!

  •  
  • Fabulous Retreat!

    Stayed 3 days ending in September, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Larry M from 1, ca recommends this vacation rental

    Can't say enough about this vacation home! Because it's a home! Great for my family and we felt warm and welcomed our entire stay! Great Staff! Will be back!

    • Manager Responded on 9/29/2017

      So happy to hear you loved your stay at Hookton Wildlife Retreat! We think the home is special too, it's very inviting and cozy inside, and has a great outdoor table and chairs for hanging out or eating a meal outdoors, and soaking up the clean air and sunshine. It is a newer home for us at Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals, and love hearing feedback on the home which, so far, has been all positive. Thanks again for taking time to leave a review of Hookton Wildlife Retreat and we look forward to your return!

  •  
  • Vacation getaway

    Stayed 11 days ending in August, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Keith A from sacramento, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We had a nice time staying in this house. It had a welcoming feeling when we arrived and felt very comfortable during our stay. The location is nice, we toured around Ferndale, Eureka, and being close to College of the Redwoods was nice as we moved our son into college.

    • Manager Responded on 9/24/2017

      Thank you Keith, so glad you found the right property for your stay. Hookton Wildlife Retreat is really beautiful, and very welcoming, we are so glad you feel the same! We hope you visit us again at Hookton Wildife Retreat, please visit us at Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals when planning your next visit, we'd love to see you again!

  •  
  • Perfect house for our adventures!

    Stayed 4 days ending in August, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Sherry B from Grapevine, TX recommends this vacation rental

    We loved this house,it was the perfect location for our adventures to see the magnificent Redwoods, the beautiful coast line & the Ave. of the Giants. This rural location was so serene, loved the deer that came to visit each evening. The Loleta Cheese Factory was an interesting find. We loved Ferndale & the drive on the Lost Coast byway was breathtaking! My husband was disappointed with the no TV connection issue, but internet connection worked well. The kitchen was well stocked with spices we needed to make each meal, which was nice.

    • Manager Responded on 9/4/2017

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hookton Wildlife Retreat. It really is a beautiful home, and one of our newer additions. We are working on a solution so all guests can stream TV, and we hope that guests take advantage of the the outdoor space to enjoy a meal or glass of wine at the end of the day. The owner has thought of all the little details, such as a multitude of spiceson hand, so guests can really enjoy preparing a meal together. We'd love to have you back to this home soon, so please look us up at Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals when planning your next trip to the North Coast!

  •  
  • Good experience

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Michael D from Mettmann, Germany recommends this vacation rental

    We arrived from Germany without reservation and found this nice place thru
    The house is very clean, completely equipped and built with natural materials. Lots of wood, economical washing machine...
    The location is half way between the mall if eureka and the beaches pod humboldt bay. Very quiet at night.
    The internet connection was very poor in the beginning and improved to moderate after the owners improved it. Still for six users quite slow.
    Nowadays one can expect unlimited and fast wifi all inclusive. Same for the tv. No dish, no cable, and a weak internet, disappointing.
    The house, the location excellent. We enjoyed the one week stay, close to the redwoods, Hogg restaurants around (cheese factory in Loleta).
    Overall on a scale from 1-10 we rate it 8.
    We would come again.

    • Manager Responded on 8/7/2017

      Thank you so much for staying with us at Hookton Wildlife Retreat. We are so pleased you enjoyed our home and we appreciate this very nice review. Yes, in rural areas, internet is limited and a bit spotty at times. However, we are happy to hear the home and the area we more than sufficient to entertain you during your stay. We look forward to your return!

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:
*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

Seasonal Rental Rates for this Vacation Rental

Dates Daily Weekly Monthly Minimum Stay Checkin Restrictions
Jul 15, 2018-Jul 19, 2018 $250 na na 2 Tue, Wed, Thu checkin only
Jul 20, 2018-Jul 21, 2018 $295 na na 2 No restrictions
Jul 22, 2018-Jul 26, 2018 $250 na na 2 No restrictions
Jul 27, 2018-Jul 28, 2018 $295 na na 2 No restrictions
Jul 29, 2018-Aug 2, 2018 $250 na na 2 No restrictions
Aug 3, 2018-Aug 4, 2018 $295 na na 2 No restrictions
Aug 5, 2018-Aug 9, 2018 $250 na na 2 No restrictions
Aug 10, 2018-Aug 11, 2018 $295 na na 2 No restrictions
Aug 12, 2018-Aug 16, 2018 $250 na na 2 No restrictions
Aug 17, 2018-Aug 18, 2018 $295 na na 2 No restrictions
Aug 19, 2018-Aug 23, 2018 $250 na na 2 No restrictions
Aug 24, 2018-Aug 25, 2018 $295 na na 2 No restrictions
Aug 26, 2018-Aug 30, 2018 $195 na na 2 No restrictions
Aug 31, 2018-Sep 2, 2018 $295 na na 3 No restrictions
Sep 3, 2018-Sep 6, 2018 $195 na na 2 No restrictions
Sep 7, 2018-Sep 8, 2018 $225 na na 2 No restrictions
Sep 9, 2018-Sep 13, 2018 $195 na na 2 No restrictions
Sep 14, 2018-Sep 15, 2018 $225 na na 2 No restrictions
Sep 16, 2018-Sep 20, 2018 $195 na na 2 No restrictions
Sep 21, 2018-Sep 22, 2018 $225 na na 2 No restrictions
Sep 23, 2018-Sep 27, 2018 $195 na na 2 No restrictions
Sep 28, 2018-Sep 29, 2018 $225 na na 2 No restrictions
Sep 30, 2018-Oct 4, 2018 $195 na na 2 No restrictions
Oct 5, 2018-Oct 6, 2018 $225 na na 2 No restrictions
Oct 7, 2018-Oct 11, 2018 $195 na na 2 No restrictions
Oct 12, 2018-Oct 13, 2018 $225 na na 2 No restrictions
Oct 14, 2018-Oct 18, 2018 $165 na na 2 Sun, Mon checkin only

*Seasonal rates are estimates only. Actual rates may differ. Seasonal rates do not include fees or taxes.

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
40.673134,-124.218056
Call Us Today (707) 834-6555 | Privacy Policy

Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals 1225 Central Ave, Suite 14 McKinleyville, CA 95519 +1 (707) 834-6555 booking@redwoodcoastvacationrentals.com

© 1999 - 2018 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon